Tim DeChristopher: Remarks to the court – 26 July 2011

28 07 2011

“The people who are committed to fighting for a livable future will not be discouraged or intimidated by anything that happens here today,” he said. “And neither will I. I will continue to confront the system that threatens our future. Given the destruction of our democratic institutions that once gave citizens access to power, my future will likely involve civil disobedience. Nothing that happens here today will change that. I don’t mean that in any sort of disrespectful way at all, but you don’t have that authority. You have authority over my life, but not my principles. Those are mine alone.”
“Fossil fuels are a limited resources, whoever controls access to that resource in the beginning gets to set all the terms,” he said. “They set the terms for their workers, for the local communities, and apparently even for the regulatory agencies.”

“Since no one can control access to the sun or the wind, the wealth is more likely to flow to whoever does the work of harnessing that energy, and therefore to create a more distributed economic system, which leads to a more distributed political system,” he said. “It threatens the profits of the handful of corporations for whom the current system works, but our question is which segment of the public are you tasked with protecting. I am here today because I have chosen to protect the people locked out of the system over the profits of the corporations running the system. I say this not because I want your mercy, but because I want you to join me.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

